Women's Volleyball
    Alex Jupiter Named Finalist For Sullivan Award

    Alex Jupiter.

    March 14, 2012

    USC senior outside hitter Alex Jupiter has been named a finalist for the prestigious 2011 Sullivan Award, presented by the Amateur Athletic Union to the nation's top amateur athlete.

    Jupiter and five other finalists will attend the Sullivan Award ceremony on March 20 at the New York Athletic Club, where the winner will be announced.

    The other 2011 Sullivan Award finalists are Jillian Camarena-Williams (shot put), Jason Reed (rowing), Katherine Reutter (speedskating), Andrew Rodriguez (football) and Jordyn Wieber (gymnastics).

    The AAU will be live streaming the 2011 AAU Sullivan Awards, starting at 7:15 pm EST when the award ceremony begins. It will be found on the AAU's Facebook page, under the Live Streaming tab: http://on.fb.me/AoTyNi. It can also be found here: www.livestream.com/therealaau.

    Jupiter, a native of France, was the 2011 AVCA and Volleyball Magazine National Player of the Year and the Honda Award winner for women's volleyball as she led the Women of Troy to their second consecutive NCAA Final Four appearance. She also was the 2011 Pac-12 Player of the Year. This past season, she had 514 kills while hitting .265 and added 57 aces, 360 digs and 63 blocks.

    The two-time All-American first teamer and three-time All-Conference honoree was the first player in USC history to record at least 500 kills in a season three times. She holds USC career records for kills (1,918), points (2,255.5) and attempts (4,759).

    Four Trojans have won the Sullivan Award: diver Sammy Lee (1953), shot putter Parry O'Brien (1959) and swimmers John Naber (1977) and Janet Evans (1989).

    The Sullivan Award has been presented annually since 1930 and is based on character, leadership and sportsmanship. Notable recipients of the AAU Sullivan Award include Mark Spitz, Jackie Joyner-Kersee, Florence Joyner, Peyton Manning, Michael Phelps, J.J. Redick, Tim Tebow and Shawn Johnson.



    The 2011 finalists were selected from personal nominations following a review by the AAU Sullivan Award Executive Committee. The winner will be determined through voting by select members of the media, previous winners and AAU staff. The public was also allowed input through nationwide polling on the USA Today website.