Women's Tennis
    All-Star Trojans On Another ITA Awards List

    Steve Johnson and Roberto Quiroz have a spot on the doubles list for the ITA All-Star Team.

    July 23, 2012

    With the next season looming on the horizon, the Trojan tennis teams continue to pile up 2012 season honors. ITA National Player of the Year Steve Johnson has heaped on spots on the ITA Collegiate All-Star Team along with doubles teammate Roberto Quiroz and women's doubles power pair Kaitlyn Christian and Sabrina Santamaria. This is the third career selection for senior Johnson to the ITA All-Star Team, as he weighs in on the singles and doubles dockets this year. For sophomore Christian and freshmen Quiroz and Santamaria, this is the first ITA All-Star Team selection.

    Johnson and Quiroz scored their spot on the team in finishing as the nation's No. 2 ranked doubles pair. Christian and Santamaria secured their place with a No. 3 finish and as the owners of the ITA National Indoor Doubles Championship. Johnson, the back-to-back NCAA Singles Champion, was a shoe-in for his third appearance on the esteemed honor roll.

    This 29th edition of the ITA Collegiate All-Star Team includes the nation's top-ranked men's and women's tennis players from the season-ending Campbell/ITA College Tennis Rankings at the NCAA Divisions I, II and III, NAIA and NJCAA levels, as well as winners from the 2011 USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships and 2012 NCAA Championships. Highlighting this year's team are the Campbell/ITA National Players of the Year: Steve Johnson of the University of Southern California and Nicole Gibbs of Stanford University.

    These tremendous student-athletes will be treated by the ITA and United States Tennis Association (USTA) to a weekend in New York, highlighted by activities during Arthur Ashe Kids' Day at the USTA Billie Jean King National Tennis Center on Saturday, August 25th. The group will be honored at the ITA awards luncheon, hosted by the USTA in the President's Dining Room Suite.



    For the full list of honorees, CLICK HERE