Women's Tennis
    Christian and Santamaria Tabbed ITA National Doubles Team of the Year

    USC's Sabrina Santamaria and Kaitlyn Christian

    July 10, 2013

    SKILLMAN, N.J. - USC's NCAA champion doubles team of sophomore Sabrina Santamaria and junior Kaitlyn Christian were named the 2013 ITA National College Women's Doubles Team of the Year on July 10. They become the first Trojan women's duo to receive the award. USC had a men's tandem receive national honors in 2008 when Robert Farah and Kaes Van't Hof were selected.

    Among other award winners, Florida's Lauren Embree and Virginia's Jarmere Jenkins were named ITA National College Players of the Year. Duke's men's pair of Henrique Cunha and Raphael Hemmeler was honored as the men's doubles team of the year.

    The ITA College Player of the Year Awards are given to the male and female singles players and doubles teams that have had the most outstanding year in college tennis. Players will be honored on Saturday, July 13 in Newport, R.I., at a special awards luncheon during the Rolex Hall of Fame Enshrinement Weekend, immediately preceding the 2013 International Tennis Hall of Fame Enshrinement Ceremony.

    Christian and Santamaria posted an incredible 37-1 mark (15-1 at the top doubles court in duals) and captured USC's first-ever NCAA Women's Doubles title. They became the first women's tandem in collegiate history to complete the triple-crown as winners of all three major collegiate championships in the same year; the 2012 ITA/Riviera Women's All-American Championship, the 2012 USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championship, and the 2013 NCAA crown.

    The Trojan pair also won the 2011 USTA/ITA National Indoor Intercollegiate Championships doubles crown and now boasts a total of four national titles.

    Santamaria has earned four All-America certificates from the ITA in just two seasons of competition while Christian holds three All-America honors to her name.

    The Trojan duo finished 2012-13 as the No. 1-ranked doubles team and was also named the 2013 Pac-12 Doubles Team of the Year after winning back-to-back conference titles.