Women's Tennis
    Richard Gallien Named Pac-10 Women's Coach Of The Year; Amanda Fink Is Freshman Of The Year

    May 8, 2006

    The USC women's and men's tennis teams are well represented on the Pac-10 awards list this season, with women's head coach Richard Gallien earning his second career honor as Pac-10 Coach of the Year and newcomer Amanda Fink named Pac-10 Freshman of the Year on the women's side of the game. All told, the Women of Troy placed four players on All-Pac-10 teams, and two Trojan men received Pac-10 Honorable Mention.

    Receiving All-Pac-10 honors on the women's side were First Team selections Fink and sophomore Lindsey Nelson. Senior Luana Magnani was named to the Second Team, and junior Dianne Matias received Honorable Mention. For the men, sophomore Dejan Cvetkovic and Kaes Van't Hof both received Honorable Mention for their 2006 performances with the Trojans.

    Under Coach of the Year Gallien's direction Fink, Nelson, Magnani and Matias have helped in guiding the Women of Troy through a 17-3 regular season and a 7-1 mark in Pac-10 competition to take second in the conference. USC has earned its 15th consecutive trip to the NCAA Team Championships, and will host first- and second-round action May 12-13. With Gallien at the helm for his 11th season, USC maneuvered through the 2006 season virtually uncontested, falling only to defending Pac-10 and national champion Stanford and to a powerful Baylor squad. Gallien also was named Pac-10 Coach of the Year in 1999. Since then, USC has finished no lower than 11th. USC is currently ranked in a tie for No. 2 with Notre Dame and has the No. 3 seed into the NCAA Team Championships.

    2006 Freshman of the Year Fink currently sits at No. 7 in the national rankings and has earned the No. 6 seed into the upcoming NCAA Singles Championships. Playing primarily at the No. 2 singles slot for the Women of Troy, Fink brings a 37-9 singles record into this week's NCAA Team Championships. At the Pac-10 Championships, the freshman powered her way into the title match, where she fell to champion and Pac-10 Player of the Year Zsuzsanna Fodor of Cal.

    Despite a tough season in which the USC men suffered nine losses by 4-3 decisions, sophomores Cvetkovic and Van't Hof proved a sturdy force for the Trojans. Cvetkovic played primarily in the tough No. 1 singles slot, and Van't Hof spent the majority of his time holding down the No. 3 position during dual match competition. Van't Hof finished the 2006 season as USC's winningest singles player with 21 singles victories.

    In her second season at USC, No. 1 singles player Nelson did another stellar job in leading the Women of Troy through a successful dual match season. She reached the Pac-10 Singles Semifinals to round out her regular season with a 19-7 record, and she posted an 11-5 record from her No. 1 position in dual match play. With Fink at the No. 2 slot, USC had a potent one-two punch for dual match competition. And with second-team selection Magnani and honorable mention Matias sharing time at the Nos. 3 and 4 positions, the Women of Troy have a powerful depth charge for their postseason run. Magnani went 9-0 at No. 4 singles to go 14-4 in dual matches and 24-8 overall. Matias posted a 7-1 record in the Pac-10 and has gone 15-5 in dual matches and 28-9 overall so far for the Women of Troy.

    2006 Pac-10 Awards


    Women's Coach of the Year
    Richard Gallien, USC

    Women's Player of the Year
    Zsuzsanna Fodor, CAL

    Women's Doubles Team of the Year
    Alice Barnes/Anne Yelsey, STAN

    Women's Freshman of the Year
    Amanda Fink, USC

    First Team
    Alice Barnes, STAN
    Zsuzsanna Fodor, CAL
    Amber Liu, STAN
    Lindsey Nelson, USC
    Amanda Fink, USC
    Anne Yelsey, STAN
    Theresa Logar, STAN
    Laura Gordon, UCLA

    Second Team
    Dominika Dieskova, ORE
    Suzi Babos, CAL
    Danielle Steinberg, ARIZ
    Riza Zalameda, UCLA
    Luana Magnani, USC

    Honorable Mention
    Tracy Lin, UCLA
    Dianne Matias, USC
    Ekaterina Burduli, WSU
    Roxanne Clarke, ASU
    Dinka Hadzic, WASH


    Men's Coach of the Year
    John Whitlinger, STAN

    Men's Player of the Year
    Conor Niland, CAL

    Men's Doubles Team of the Year
    Philipp Gruendler/Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA

    Men's Newcomer of the Year
    Matt Bruch, STAN

    First Team
    Matt Bruch, STAN
    KC Corkery, STAN
    Benjamin Kohlloeffel, UCLA
    Roger Matalonga, ARIZ
    Conor Niland, CAL
    Alex Slovic, WASH

    Second Team
    Haythem Abid, UCLA
    Tyler Browne, CAL
    Jonathan Kinsella, ASU
    James Pade, STAN
    Markus Schiller, ORE
    James Wan, STAN

    Honorable Mention
    Dejan Cvetkovic, USC
    Jeff Groslimond, ARIZ
    Pierre Metenier, WASH
    Chris Surapol, UCLA
    Kaes Van't Hof, USC