Women's Tennis
    Magnani, Anastasiu Named to All-Pac-10 Second Team

    May 5, 2004

    WALNUT CREEK, Calif. -- In a vote by the Pac-10 Conference coaches, the USC men's and women's tennis teams earned seven conference honors for the 2004 season, announced Pac-10 commissioner Tom Hansen on Wednesday, May 5.

    Highlighting the Trojans' honors, men's coach Peter Smith has been named the 2004 Pac-10 Coach of the Year after leading USC to a 6-1 conference record (19-3 overall) and a share of the Pac-10 title. More impressively, Smith's team captured the conference title (its first since 1994) after having posted a 2-5 Pac-10 mark last season. This is Smith's seventh career conference Coach of the Year honor and USC's seventh honor overall.

    The men's and women's teams each had three players named to All-Pac-10 teams. Junior Luana Magnani and freshman Anca Anastasiu were named to the women's All-Pac-10 second team, and teammate Carine Vermeulen was selected as All-Pac-10 honorable mention.

    On the men's side, Adriano Biasella was honored to the All-Pac-10 first team, while teammates Johan Berg and Jamil Al-Agba earned All-Pac-10 honorable mention accolades.

    Following is a complete list of honors.

    2004 Tennis Pac-10 Conference Honors

    Women's First Team
    Alice Barnes, STAN, Dianne Hollands, ARIZ, Raquel Kops-Jones, CAL, Amber Liu, STAN, Daria Panova, ORE, Dea Sumantri, WASH

    Women's Second Team
    Anca Anastasiu, USC, Daniela Bercek, UCLA, Erin Burdette, STAN, Jackie Carleton, UCLA, Claire Carter, WASH, Luana Magnani, USC

    Honorable Mention
    Lauren Barnikow, STAN, Erin Hoe, WASH, Jieun Jacobs, CAL, Theresa Logar, STAN, Sasha Podkolzina, CAL, Carine Vermeulen, USC

    Women's Player of the Year
    Raquel Kops-Jones, CAL

    Women's Doubles Team of the Year
    Erin Burdette/Lauren Barnikow, STAN

    Women's Freshman of the Year
    Daniela Bercek, UCLA

    Women's Coach of the Year
    Lele Forood, STAN

    Men's First Team
    Adriano Biasella, USC, Tobias Clemens, UCLA, Alex Slovic, WASH, Sven Swinnen, ORE, Alex Vlaski, WASH, Sam Warburg, STAN

    Men's Second Team
    KC Corkery, STAN, Manuel Kost, ORE, Chris Lam, UCLA, Roger Matalonga, ARIZ, Balazs Veress, CAL, Wayne Wong, CAL

    Honorable Mention
    Jamil Al-Agba, USC, Johan Berg, USC, Luben Pampoulov, UCLA, Chris Stewart, ASU, James Wan, STAN

    Men's Player of the Year
    Sam Warburg, STAN

    Men's Co-Doubles Team of the Year
    Balazs Veress/Patrick Briaud, CAL
    Alberto Francis/Kris Kwinta, UCLA

    Men's Co-Freshman of the Year
    Alex Slovic, WASH
    James Wan, STAN

    Men's Coach of the Year
    Peter Smith, USC