Women's Swimming & Diving
    Hosszu Wins Honda Sports Award For Swimming, Diving

    March 31, 2011

    Katinka Hosszu, a junior at the University of Southern California, has won the 2011 Honda Sports Award in swimming & diving, designating her as the nation's top collegiate female athlete in that sport. The honor was based on the results of national balloting among 1,000 NCAA member schools as part of the Collegiate Women Sports Awards program, now in its 35th year. Her win marks the third time a University of Southern California athlete has won the Honda Sports Award for swimming & diving. Kristine Quance won twice (`96, '97).

    The Honda Sports Award is given annually to the top women athletes in 12 NCAA-sanctioned sports, along with automatic eligibility to become a "Top Three" finalist for Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year. Hosszu was voted over three other nominees for the 2011 award: Allison Schmitt, a junior from the University of Georgia, Jillian Tyler, a senior from the University of Minnesota and Arianna Vanderpool-Wallace, a senior from Auburn University. All four nominees were selected by the NCAA College Swimming & Diving Coaches Association.

    "I am very honored to win the Honda Sports Award," Hosszu said. "I had never won an NCAA championship before and this year I won three times, but not without help. I can attribute my performances this year to my coaches and my teammates for helping me get better every day. I am very proud to be a part of this team. Everyone worked extremely hard this year to achieve our team goal of a top 5 finish."

    (Click here to see Katinka talk about winning the Honda Sports Award.)

    A native of Hungary, Hosszu was the only swimmer to win three titles at this year's NCAA Championships, including the 200-yard IM, 400-yard IM and 200-yard fly. She set an NCAA meet record in the 400-yard IM and led the Trojans to a third-place finish at the meet. She was named Swimmer of the Meet at the NCAA as well as at the Pac-10 Championships, where she won the same three titles (200 IM, 400 IM, 200 fly). She is a five-time 2011 All-American, adding the 400-yard free and 800-yard medley relays at the NCAAs, giving her 13 career All-American honors. Hosszu twice competed for her native country in the Olympics (2004, '08) and won a gold medal at the 2009 World Championships (400-meter IM). She holds four individual school records, as well as three relay records, and was a five-time champion at the 2010 U.S. Short Course Nationals. Hosszu is majoring in psychology.



    Previously announced Honda Sports Award recipients include Sheila Reid from Villanova University for cross-country, Katie O'Donnell from the University of Maryland for field hockey, Melissa Henderson from Notre Dame for soccer, and Blair Brown of Penn State University for volleyball. Honda Award winners in basketball, golf, gymnastics, lacrosse, softball, tennis, and track & field will be announced in the coming months. The Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year will be determined by separate balloting involving all NCAA-member institutions. On June 27, 2011, the winner will receive the Honda-Broderick Cup at a ceremony in New York, at which the "Top Three" finalists are scheduled to attend.

    For more information about The Collegiate Women Sports Awards, please visit www.collegiatewomensportsawards.com.

    American Honda Motor Co., Inc. has sponsored the Collegiate Women Sports Awards Program for 26 consecutive years. Honda has donated over $2 million in grants and sponsorships to universities over the course of the program.

    USC's Honda Sports Award Winners

    Honda-Broderick Cup for Collegiate Woman Athlete of the Year
    1983-84 Cheryl Miller
    2001-02 Angela Williams

    Honda Sports Awards

    1977-78 Debbie Green (volleyball)
    1980-81 Anna Maria Fernandez (tennis)
    1983-84 Cheryl Miller (basketball)
    1984-85 Cheryl Miller (basketball)
    1993-94 Lisa Leslie (basketball)
    1995-96 Kristine Quance (swimming and diving)
    1996-97 Kristine Quance (swimming and diving)
    2001-02 Angela Williams (track and field)
    2002-03 Mikaela Parmlid (golf)
    2003-04 April Ross (volleyball)
    2005-06 Irene Cho (golf)
    2005-06 Virginia Powell (track and field)
    2010-11 Katinka Hosszu (swimming and diving)