Women's Swimming & Diving
    Quiroz and Ishimatsu Named USC Credit Union Student-Athletes of the Week

    Roberto Quiroz
    Jan. 20, 2015

    LOS ANGELES – USC tennis player Roberto Quiroz and women’s diver Haley Ishimatsu were named USC Credit Union Student-Athletes of the Week for the week of Jan. 12-18, on Tuesday (Jan 20).

    Roberto Quiroz kicked off his 2015 campaign with a tournament title at the Sherwood Collegiate Cup. The senior went 4-0 in the tournament and only surrendered a single set on his way to the crown. In the title match against Dennis Mkrtchian of UCLA, Quiroz dominated with a 6-2, 6-0 victory.

    In the doubles bracket, Quiroz partnered with fellow Trojan teammate Max De Vroome. The duo made it all the way to the championship round where they were defeated to take second place in the bracket. The Trojans are next scheduled to compete in the ITA Kick-Off Weekend at Marks Stadium on Jan. 23.

    Also nominated for men’s student-athlete of the week honors: Micah Christenson (volleyball) and Robert Ford (track).

    Haley Ishimatsu showcased her diving skills over the weekend at the Bruin Dive Invitational. On the first day of competition, the senior placed first on the women’s 3-meter. Ishimatsu, who claimed the 2014 Pac-12 title on the 3-meter, scored 601.65 points to win the event.

    On the last day of events, Ishimatsu placed first on the platform. The two–time defending NCAA champion on platform scored 604.70 points, well ahead of UCLA’s Annika Lenz, who finished with 559.80 points. Next up, the Women of Troy will compete at California on Jan. 30 and at Stanford on Jan. 31.

    Also nominated for women’s student-athlete of the week honors: Monica Vavic (water polo) and Ky Westbrook (track).

    The USC Credit Union Student-Athletes of the Week are voted on by the student assistants and Sports Information Directors of the USC Sports Information Office. Nominations are compiled and distributed for voting by Alec Koondel. Student assistant voters include Rachel Dobrin, Dru Chavez, Colette Garcia, Melissa Martino, Andrew McKagan, Max Schwartz and intern Katie Ryan.