Women's Swimming & Diving
    USC Swimming, Diving Teams Down ASU

    Nov. 10, 2012


    USC senior Haley Anderson won a pair of distance races as USC's women's and men's swimming and diving teams remained unbeaten this year with victories over visiting Arizona State on Saturday at USC.

    The No. 1 USC women's squad improved to 5-0 overall, 4-0 in the Pac-12 with a 118-116 win over Arizona State while the No. 6 men moved to 3-0, 2-0 with their victory over the Sun Devils.

    Anderson opened the individual events with a win in the 1000y free in 9:41.32, lowering her pool record in the event for the second day in a row. Previously, the record of 9:42.80 had stood since 1984. Trojan junior Nick Johnson won the men's 1000y free in 9:26.11 with sophomore Dakota Hodgson second (9:28.28).

    ASU's Shannon Landgrebe won the 200y free in 1:48.03 with junior Lynette Lim in second (1:49.30). In the men's 200y free, junior Mike Godbe finished first in 1:41.19 with senior Spencer Di Dio in second (1:42.48).

    Junior Kasey Carlson won the 50y free in 22.89 to lead a 1-2-3 finish with seniors Kate Shumway (24.01) and Lindsay Parrish (24.27) following her to the wall. Junior Jack Wagner won the 50y free in a USC season-best 24.21 with unrelated freshman Zach Wagner in second (21.01).

    Sophomore Andrea Kropp, after winning three races against Arizona on Friday, led a sweep of the 200y IM with a 2:00.18, just ahead of freshman Jasmine Tosky (2:00.75) while senior Jessica Schmitt was third (2:01.82). Senior Alex Lendrum (1:50.12) and junior Sean Mulroy (1:51.53) led a 1-2 finish in the men's 200y IM.



    Senior Yumi So won the women's 200y fly with a 2:02.20 with Lim in second (2:03.03). Senior Justin DiFederico won the men's 200y fly (1:47.82), slightly lower his team-best time and NCAA `B' cut. Freshmen Maclin Davis (1:54.39) and Harry Pullar (1:54.89) finished 2-3.

    Junior Chase Bloch won the men's 100y free (46.27), out-touching Zach Wagner at the wall (46.29).

    Sun Devil Taylor Wohrley won the 200y back in 2:00.41 with Kropp in second (2:02.04). Sophomore Chad Bobrosky won the men's 200y back in 1:49.36 with senior Nick Karpov second (1:51.73).

    Anderson repeated as a winner with a 4:46.40 in the 500y free. ASU's Tristin Baxter, second in the 1000y free, was second again here in 4:49.42. Hodgson the 500y free in 4:26.67, leading a 1-2-3 finish with freshman Brock Redondo taking second (4:33.92) and Johnson third (4:34.70).

    Schmitt won the 200y breast in 2:12.95 while ASU's Thibaut Capitaine won the men's race (2:03.80).

    USC swept both 200y medley relays. The Trojan women won the 400y free relay while the ASU men claimed the men's race.

    ASU's Morgan Weller won both the 1-meter (282.83) and 3-meter (298.88) springboards while former Trojan and current Sun Devil Harrison Jones won both men's events with 374.93 on 1-meter and 392.55 on 3-meter.