Women's Swimming & Diving
    Ishimatsu Wins 1M At Zones, Earns NCAA Berth

    Sophomore Haley Ishimatsu won the 1-meter springboard at the 2013 NCAA Zone E Diving Championships on Friday.

    March 15, 2013


    Sophomore Haley Ishimatsu won the 1-meter springboard - by a half point - at the 2013 NCAA Zone E Diving Championships on Friday (March 15) at the U.S. Air Force Academy's Cadet Natatorium in Fort Collins, Colo., earning a spot at the NCAA Championships next week.

    There are 85 divers competing for a handful of berths into the upcoming men's and women's NCAA Championships, including women's divers from 24 western schools and men's divers from 11 schools.

    A top 3 finish would have been good enough to earn a spot for Ishimatsu, but she moved from second to first on her final dive for a 12-dive total of 612.25 (after scoring 306.90 in prelims, which was included in her final total).

    Ishimatsu, who was 11th on platform at the NCAA for Duke in 2011 before transferring to USC last year, is following in the footsteps of her older sister Victoria, who was a five-time All-American for USC, winning her only NCAA title as a senior last year on 1-meter.

    Freshman Natalie Kalibat also competed on 1-meter and finished 38th among the 49 divers with 226.05.

    Fellow freshman Sam Adams was seventh on 3-meter on Thursday, a half point out of sixth and a likely berth into the NCAAs. She will try to earn an NCAA berth on platform Saturday (March 16).

    Ishimatsu will also compete on platform, an event she won at the Pac-12 Championships.

    On the men's side, sophomore Jordan Gear was ninth on 1-meter Thursday (625.10) while freshman Spencer Madanay was 13th (608.85).

    2013 Zone E Diving Schedule
    Thursday's action includes women's 3-meter prelims at 11 a.m. and finals at 1:45 p.m. and men's 1-meter prelims at 4:45 p.m. with finals at 6:30 p.m. and women's 1-meter finals at 1:45 p.m. On Friday, the schedule reverses with women's 1-meter and men's 3-meter. Women's platform prelims begin at 11 a.m. Saturday with finals at 12:30 p.m. Men's platform prelims are at 3:30 p.m. with finals at 5 p.m.