Women's Rowing
    USC Set to Defend Jessop-Whittier Cup at Crew Classic

    USC women's rowing head coach Zenon Babraj has guided his Trojans to three Jessop-Whittier Cup titles.

    April 4, 2013

    2013 San Diego Crew Classic Schedule and Results

    LOS ANGELES - The sixth-ranked USC women's rowing team heads to Mission Bay, this weekend, to compete in the 40th-annual San Diego Crew Classic, April 6-7. The Women of Troy are the two-time defending champions of the prestigious Jessop-Whittier Cup and can claim an unprecedented third consecutive title with a strong showing, in Mission Bay. USC has won the cup four times in program history; first in 2001, then again in 2007, 2011, and 2012.

    The Trojans open the weekend with a 9:20 a.m. PT race out of lane two where the varsity eight will race in the second of two Varsity Invitational heats. USC will have to face second-ranked California (top lane), No. 14 Wisconsin, Duke, Iowa, and Purdue in its heat. In the first heat, top-ranked Virginia, No. 7 Washington, No. 9 UCLA, No. 19 Washington State, and Texas will race for a spot in the grand final set for 9:35 a.m. on Sunday. The petite final will take place at 9:20 a.m.

    At 9:40 a.m. on Saturday, USC's varsity four will line up to race for the Karen Plumleigh Cortney Cup in the Women's Collegiate 4+ division. Also racing out of lane two, the Trojans go up against Washington, Texas, Duke, San Diego, Kansas State, and San Diego State. The first heat will be contested amongst Virginia, UCLA, Washington State, Iowa, British Columbia, Old Dominion, and St. Joseph's. A third final will take place at 4:40 p.m. on Saturday with the petite final set for Sunday at 8:40 a.m. and the grand final scheduled for 10:20 a.m.

    The second varsity eight will compete for the Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy and race out of the top lane in the Women's Collegiate 2V division at 11:10 a.m. Joining the Trojans in Heat C are Washington, Duke, San Diego, Loyola, and Bates. Among the top teams in the other two heats are Virginia, Cal, UCLA, Wisconsin, and Washington State. The Hungness Trophy third final takes place at 4:50 p.m. on Saturday with its petite final at 8:20 a.m. on Sunday. The Hungness Trophy grand final is slated for 10 a.m. on Sunday.

    In novice action, the Trojans' first-year boat will race for the Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy in lane three of Heat A. USC draws Cal, Minnesota, Orange Coast College, San Diego State, and Sacramento State in their heat set for an 11:50 a.m. start. Among other heats, UCLA, Washington State, Washington, and Virginia hold top lane assignements. The Korholz Trophy petite final is set for 7:20 a.m. on Sunday with the grand final set for 11:10 a.m.

    USC will also race a second varsity four boat in a B race, which will take place at 9:50 a.m. on Saturday. The Trojans hold lane two with Virginia, UCLA, Texas, San Diego, and SDSU also participating.

    Last year, ranked sixth, USC's top boat won consecutive Jessop-Whittier Cups for the first time in program history. The Trojans' time of 7:03.93 was dominant as they finished a boat length in front of No. 1-ranked Virginia. USC's second varsity eight and varsity four boats also made appearances in their respective grand finals on the second day of the 39th Crew Classic. The Trojans' novice eight placed third in its petite final for ninth place overall.

    For a complete schedule of races at the 2013 San Diego Crew Classic, please visit www.crewclassic.org/results.

    Mission Bay | San Diego, Calif.
    April 6-7, 2013 


    Saturday, April 6
    9:20 a.m. - Women's Collegiate Varsity Invitational Heat B (Jessop-Whittier Cup in Memory of Patty Wyatt) - Lane 2
    9:40 a.m. - Women's Collegiate 4+ Heat B (Karen Plumleigh Cortney Cup) - Lane 2
    9:50 a.m. - Women's Collegiate 4+ B Final - Lane 2
    11:10 a.m. - Women's Collegiate 2V Heat C (Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy) - Lane 1
    11:50 a.m. - Women's Collegiate Novice Heat A (Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy) - Lane 3
    4:40 p.m. - Women's Collegiate 4+ 3rd (Karen Plumleigh Cortney Cup)
    4:50 p.m. - Women's Collegiate 2V 3rd (Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy)

    Sunday, April 7
    7:20 a.m. - Women's Collegiate Novice Petite Final (Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy)
    8:20 a.m. - Women's Collegiate 2V Petite Final (Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy)
    8:40 a.m. - Women's Collegiate 4+ Petite Final (Karen Plumleigh Cortney Cup)
    9:20 a.m. - Women's Collegiate Varsity Invitational Petite Final (Jessop-Whitter Cup in Memory of Patty Wyatt)
    9:35 a.m. - Women's Collegiate Varsity Invitational Grand Final (Jessop-Whitter Cup in Memory of Patty Wyatt)
    10:00 a.m. - Women's Collegiate 2V Grand Final (Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy)
    10:20 a.m. - Women's Collegiate 4+ Grand Final (Karen Plumleigh Cortney Cup)
    11:10 a.m. - Women's Collegiate Novice Grand Final (Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy)


    Women's Collegiate Varsity Invitational | USC Varsity Eight
    Jessop-Whittier Cup in Memory of Patty Wyatt
    Bow: Melanie Grindle
    2: Iskra Angelova
    3: Jelena Zelenovic
    4: Madara Strautmane
    5: Keret Einaste
    6: Ivana Filipovic
    7: Krisztina Gyimes
    Stroke: Vineta Moca
    Cox: Jennah Blau

    Women's Collegiate 2V | USC Second Varsity Eight
    Jackie Ann Stitt Hungness Trophy
    Bow: Elizabeth Turner
    2: Madelyn Walters
    3: Vanessa Tyson
    4: Lindsay Gibson
    5: Jelena Miladinovic
    6: Marlena Adamska
    7: Rebecca Shaffer
    Stroke: Deirdre Fitzpatrick
    Cox: Kellyn Freire

    Women's Collegiate 4+ | USC Varsity Four
    Karen Plumleigh Cortney Cup
    Bow: Darian DiCianno
    2: Eglit Vosu
    3: Kajsa Olsson
    Stroke: Kamali Houston
    Cox: Paige Fernandes

    Women's Collegiate 4+ B | USC Second Varsity Four
    Bow: Elaine Krebs
    2: Hannah Bowen
    3: Lauren Liedel
    Stroke: Katherine Gleadow
    Cox: Cameron Steurer

    Women's Collegiate Novice | USC Novice Eight
    Laurel V. Korholz Perpetual Trophy
    Bow: Miya Okado
    2: Shelby Penfield
    3: Tatjana Perrin
    4: Victoria Dea
    5: Sara Bilimoria
    6: Nikki Kloss
    7: Katherine Plaxe
    Stroke: Bryn Olason
    Cox: Jaclyn Walles