Women's Basketball
    Four Trojans Win Pac-12 Postgraduate Scholarships
    Brianna Gilbreath
    Brianna Gilbreath

    July 5, 2012

    Brianna Gilbreath (women's basketball), Daniel Nguyen (men's tennis), Amanda Smith (women's swimming) and Greg Woodburn (men's track) have been named recipients of Pac-12 Postgraduate Scholarships for the 2011-12 academic year, Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott announced today.

    These $3,000 awards go to 48 outstanding Pac-12 student-athletes with a minimum 3.0 grade point average who have also demonstrated a commitment to continuing education, campus and community involvement, and leadership.

    To be selected for a Pac-12 Postgraduate Scholarship, a student-athlete must:

    --Have an overall undergraduate minimum cumulative grade-point average of 3.00 (based on a 4.00 scale) or its equivalent.

    --Be in his/her final season of intercollegiate athletics eligibility in all sports OR be in his/her final year of undergraduate studies, having exhausted athletics eligibility in all sports.

    --Have performed with distinction as a member of a varsity team.

    --Intend to continue academic work beyond the baccalaureate degree as a full-time student in a graduate or professional program at an accredited institution, or in a postgraduate program for which an undergraduate degree is required for admission.

    --Have behaved, both on and off the field, in a manner that has brought credit to the student-athlete, the institution and intercollegiate athletics.

    In 1999, the Pac-12 Conference created a postgraduate scholarship program to honor outstanding student-athletes from its member institutions who also are outstanding scholars. Each Pac-12 institution selects four student-athlete recipients, two men and two women, through its institutional selection process.



    Since the program began, the Pac-12 has awarded over $1.5 million for postgraduate study.