Men's Water Polo
    Adam Shilling Named Cutino Award Finalist

    May 22, 2008

    USC's senior goalie Adam Shilling has been to three NCAA championship games in his Trojan career. He has accumulated 523 career saves for the Trojans and has been honored as an All-American the past three seasons. Now, Shilling stands in line for honors as the nation's top collegiate water polo player, starring as one of three male finalists for the 2007-08 Peter J. Cutino Award. Shilling's nod as a finalist continues USC's streak of having at least one male or female nominee for the prestigious Cutino Award every season since the award was established in 1999.

    MVP of the 2005 NCAA Tournament, where the Trojans won their third national championship, Shilling has been the backbone of the USC defense throughout his time at Troy. With Shilling in the cage, USC has led the nation in defense for the past three years. The three-time All-American boasts an outstanding work ethic along with leadership as a captain on one of USC's most successful teams. Shilling played in every single game for USC the past two years and his focus and dedication has been the cornerstone of the men's water polo program. He has anchored the Trojan defense as a knowledgeable and highly respected goalie for four seasons, and finished his USC career as the Trojans' No. 6 all-time goalie with 523 career saves.

    Also nominated for the Cutino Award are Cal's Michael Sharf and UC Irvine's Tim Hutten. The three finalists for the women's Cutino Award are Stanford's Lauren Silver and UCLA's Courtney Mathewson and Jillian Krause.

    The Peter J. Cutino Award is named after legendary former Cal head coach Pete Cutino, who passed away in September 2004. A U.S. Water Polo Hall of Fame member, Cutino was a four-time Pac-10 and NCAA Coach of the Year and led the Bears to eight NCAA championships during his 26 years spent at Berkeley. Also a coach for the U.S. Olympic Team, Cutino impacted the lives of water polo players and families at all levels of the sport. In 1999, The Olympic Club began the annual award named after the revered coach, established to honor the top male and female player in the collegiate game.



    Past recipients of the Peter J. Cutino Award are:
    1999 - Bernice Orwig (USC)
    2000 - Aniko Pelle (USC) and Sean Kern (UCLA)
    2001 - Coralie Simmons (UCLA) and Sean Kern (UCLA)
    2002 - Brenda Villa (Stanford) and Tony Azevedo (Stanford)
    2003 - Jackie Frank (Stanford) and Tony Azevedo (Stanford)
    2004 - Moriah Van Norman (USC) and Tony Azevedo (Stanford)
    2005 - Natalie Golda (UCLA) and Tony Azevedo (Stanford)
    2006 - Lauren Wenger (USC) and Juraj Zatovic (USC)
    2007 - Kelly Rulon (UCLA) and John Mann (Cal)