Men's Swimming & Diving
    Morozov Wins Pac-12 Title In 50-Yard Freestyle

    Sophomore Vladimir Morozov won USC's first conference title in the 50y free since 1995.
    Live Results
    Pac-12 Championship Page

    Sophomore Vladimir Morozov won USC's first 50y free title since 1996 while freshmen Cristian Quintero and Chad Bobrosky took second and fifth, respectively, in the 500y free to highlight USC's second-day efforts at the 2012 Pac-12 Championships at the East Los Angeles Swim Center on Thursday (March 1) in Monterey Park, Calif.

    USC, which also just missed a title in the 200y free relay, is in fourth place after day two with 169 points. Stanford (324.5) is in first with Cal second (257), Arizona third (181), Utah fifth (114), ASU sixth (108), UCSB seventh (107.5) and Cal Poly eighth (67).

    Morozov, who finished second last year in the 50y free to Cal's Nathan Adrian, was the top qualifier in prelims with a 19.46. In the final, he out-touched Stanford's Aaron Wayne, 19.48 to 19.55, to claim USC's first 50y conference crown in 16 years. The win also gave USC at least one conference title in 16 straight years.

    Trojan senior Jeff Daniels earned a second swim in the race, winning the `C' final in 19.82, just off his PR of 19.72. The 19.82 would have made the A final out of prelims and would have placed fourth in tonight's `A' final.

    USC nearly won its first 200y free relay title since 1996. The quartet of Morozov (who led off with a season-best 19.27), sophomore Dimitri Colupaev, sophomore Jack Wagner and Daniels finished in 1:17.96 to Stanford's 1:17.92. Daniels actually began the final leg in third and passed Cal's on the final leg. Cal finished third in 1:18.13

    Quintero was in a four-way battle between Stanford seniors Chad La Tourette and David Mosko as well as Bobrosky throughout Thursday's 500y final. Mosko led after 300 yards but was passed by La Tourette after 350 with Bobrosky hot on their trail. Bobrosky moved to second at 400 and was still there at 450 as Quintero moved into third. La Tourette, however, had enough to win the race in 4:17.38, holding off Quintero (4:17.83) while Bobrosky slipped to fifth (4:19.93) behind Mosko (4:18.00) and a late charging Bryan Offutt of Stanford (4:18.77). Quintero's time was USC's top this year and a strong NCAA `B' cut.

    Trojan senior Julian Bonse finished 11th with a solid `B' cut (4:21.27, PR) while sophomore Nick Johnson was 15th (4:25.63, PR).

    Junior Alex Lendrum, one of the top seeds in the 200y IM, missed qualifying for the final by 0.54. He then finished second in the consolation final (10th overall) in 1:46.73 while sophomore Sean Mulroy took 16th (1:48.66, PR). It marked Mulroy's debut as a postseason scorer. Wagner was 20th (1:49.25) while junior Justin DiFederico was 24th (1:51.73).

    The competition continues Friday through Saturday with prelims at 11 a.m. and finals at 6 p.m.