Men's Golf
    No. 8 USC Set For North Ranch Intercollegiate

    Sophomore Anthony Paolucci has led USC in its past three events.

    Feb. 21, 2013

    The USC men's golf team, ranked No. 8 and fresh off its tie for first at The Prestige at PGA West earlier this week, returns to action Monday and Tuesday (Feb. 25-26) at the 2013 North Ranch Intercollegiate at the North Ranch C.C. in Westlake Village, Calif.

    The Trojans hosted the local event from 1978-2011 but Pepperdine substituted in 2012 while USC hosted the NCAA Championships. This year, USC and Pepperdine are co-hosting the tournament.

    In addition to the host schools, the 12-team field includes Arizona State, BYU, Liberty, Lipscomb, San Diego, San Diego State, UC Irvine, UC Riverside, UC Santa Barbara and Western Kentucky.

    Play will begin with 36 holes Monday with a shotgun start at 7:30 a.m., and will be followed by 18 holes on Tuesday, starting at 7:30 a.m. (with starting times off both nines). The course plays to a par 71 at 6,753 yards.

    Live results for this year's event can be found here.

    USC returns five players from last year's squad and has welcomed three newcomers. The squad is led by junior Jeffrey Kang, a 2012 All-American honorable mention selection, and by senior Sam Smith, a two-time All-Pac-12 honorable mention pick. Sophomore Anthony Paolucci also earned All-Pac-12 honorable mention honors last year and the nation's top recruit in 2011 has taken a big step in the 2012-13 season. Also back are junior Ramsey Sahyoun, a 2012 Pac-12 All-Academic honoree and senior Stewart Hagestad. Joining the squad are highly touted freshmen Yi Kuen "Jay" Chang, Michael Moorhead and Andrew Levitt.



    USC posted a trio of third-place finishes in fall play at the Pac-12 Preview, the U.S. Collegiate Championship and the Gifford Collegiate-CordeValle. The Trojans also claimed the consolation final of the Stanford Classic Match Play while Kang tied for 12th in the individual-only Western Refining Collegiate.

    Troy opened spring play with a tie for fourth at the Amer Ari Invitational before tying for first at The Prestige at PGA West, coming from behind to earn a share of the title.

    Chang led all Trojan finishers at the Pac-12 Preview with a fifth-place finish at 7-under 209 (69-67-73). Kang tied for eighth at 5-under 211 (70-71-70). Chang paced USC again at the U.S. Collegiate Championship with a tie for ninth at 2-over 218 (71-75-72). He opened his final round with a 1-over front 9 but completed the day with a 1-under back 9, including birdies on 15 and 18. Paolucci (74-72-74) and Smith (71-76-73) tied for 20th at 4-over 220. At the Gifford Collegiate, Paolucci led the Trojans with a tie for fifth at 2-under 211 (71-71-69) while Smith tied for 13th at 3-over 216 (76-67-73). Paolucci's tie for 10th at 5-under 211 again led USC's efforts at the Amer Ari Invitational and the sophomore did it again at The Prestige at PGA West, tying for second as USC claimed a share of the event title. Kang and Chang tied for seventh.

    Paloucci (71.20), Chang (71.53) and Kang (72.06) are USC's top three in stroke average. Paolucci has led USC in its past three events, all top 10 finishes, while Chang has three top 9 finishes this year. Kang has two in the top 8. Smith has three top 20 finishes and Sahyoun has three in the top 26 ... Chang has a team-best four rounds in the 60s while Sahyoun and Kang have three apiece ... Paolucci has two rounds in the 60s but only one round higher than a 73.

    North Ranch Intercollegiate

    Past team champions
    1978 Houston 1979 UCLA 1980 Arizona State 1981 UCLA 1982 Oklahoma State 1983 Arizona State 1984 UCLA 1985 Oklahoma State 1986 Arizona State 1987 Oklahoma State 1988 UTEP 1990 Cal 1991 USC 1992 Arkansas 1993 Arizona State 1994 Stanford 1995 Stanford 1996 Arizona State 1997 USC 1998 Arizona State 1999 Texas 2000 Arizona State 2001 Arizona State 2002 USC 2003 UCLA 2004 Texas 2005 Tennessee 2006 Pepperdine 2007 Stanford 2008 USC 2009 Stanford 2010 Oregon 2011 San Diego State 2012 San Diego State

    Past individual champions

    1978 Corey Pavin, UCLA 1979 David Lee, Arizona State 1980 Dan Forsman, Arizona State 1981 Corey Pavin, UCLA 1982 Willie Wood, Oklahoma State 1983 Ken Earle, Pacific 1984 Sam Randolph, USC 1985 Brian Watts, Oklahoma State 1986 Larry Silveira Arizona 1987 Bill Mayfair, Arizona State 1988 Dave Bishop, UTEP 1990 Ben Furth, Cal 1991 Dave Bishop, UTEP 1992 Jeff Lyons, Oregon 1993 Steve Burdick, Stanford 1994 Todd Demsey, Arizona State 1995 Mike Walton, Pepperdine 1996 Tiger Woods, Stanford 1997 Jason Gore, Pepperdine 1998 Paul Casey, Arizona State 1999 Joel Hendry, New Mexico 2000 Ryan Lavoie, Oregon 2001 David Yarnes, Oregon State 2002 Brock Mackenzie, Washington 2003 Steve Conway, UCLA 2004 Matthew Rosenfeld, Texas 2005 Aron Price, Georgia Southern 2006 Anthony Kim, Oklahoma 2007 Rory Hie, USC 2008 Tim Sluiter, USC 2009 Steve Ziegler, Stanford 2010 Eugene Wong, Oregon 2011 Patrick Cantlay, UCLA 2012 Matt Hoffenberg, San Diego State