Gilmore Receives National Receivers Coach Honor

    Wide Receivers Coach Ted Gilmore

    Dec. 9, 2011

    USC first-year assistant Ted Gilmore was named 2011 FootballScoop Wide Receivers Coach of the Year presented by SpeedTracs on Friday (Dec. 9).

    Gilmore, who came to USC in February of 2011 after spending six years at Nebraska as the recruiting coordinator and receivers coach, helped mold one of the top receiving corps in the country, led by 2011 Biletnikoff finalist Robert Woods and 2011 Freshman All-American Marqise Lee.

    Said USC head coach Lane Kiffin: "Ted did a tremendous job with our wide receivers this year. Not only did he help guide a sophomore and a freshman -- Robert Woods and Marqise Lee -- to the most combined receptions for two players among BCS schools this year in the regular season, but he also got the most out of our entire receiving corps. Our receiving unit was arguably the best in the nation and Ted played a major role in that."

    Woods became USC's fourth Biletnikoff finalist after completing a huge year that included a USC and Pac-12 record 111 receptions, breaking Keyshawn Johnson's 1995 mark of 102. Woods finished with 1,292 receiving yards (fifth-most in school history) and 15 touchdowns (second most).

    Woods, a 2011 All-Pac-12 first team pick, set USC's single-game reception record with 17 against Minnesota in the 2011 season-opener and he is already tied for sixth on USC's career receptions chart with 176. He had seven games with at least 100 yards receiving this year - including a career best 255 on 14 catches against Arizona - and had 12 receptions against both Notre Dame and UCLA.



    Woods is third nationally in receptions per game (9.2, first in the Pac-12), tied for second nationally in TD receptions (15, first in Pac-12) and ninth in receiving yards per game (107.7, second in the Pac-12).

    Lee, the 2011 Pac-12 Co-Offensive Freshman of the Year and an All-Pac-12 second teamer, had 73 receptions, the second-most ever by a Trojan freshman and good for seventh on USC's single-season reception chart. He finished the season with 1,143 receiving yards and 11 touchdowns. He was tied for 18th nationally in receiving yards per game (95.3, fifth in the Pac-12) while his 11 TD receptions were tied for 12th (tied for third in the Pac-12).

    The FootballScoop Coaches of the Year awards presented by SpeedTracs are the only set of awards that recognize the most outstanding position coaches in college football. The finalists (Gilmore, Kasey Dunn and Doug Meacham of Oklahoma State, Jay Norvell of Oklahoma, and Jason Phillips and Tony Levine from Houston) were selected based off of nominations by coaches, athletic directors, and athletic department personnel. A panel of coaches including previous recipients determined the winner.

    Previous winners of the Wide Receivers Coach of the Year award are Bobby Kennedy (Texas, 2008), Zach Azzanni (Central Michigan, 2009) and Brent Pease (Boise State, 2010).