Bush Runs Off With Doak Walker Award

    Dec. 8, 2005

    ORLANDO, Fla. (AP) - Reggie Bush won the Doak Walker Award on Thursday night to become the first USC player to be honored as the nation's top running back.

    A Heisman Trophy finalist, Bush beat out Washington State's Jerome Harrison and Memphis' DeAngelo Williams.

    Bush, a junior, leads the nation in all-purpose yards with 217.6 per game and has scored 18 touchdowns. He rushed for a career-high 1,658 yards, averaging 8.9 yards per carry.

    Cedric Benson of Texas won the award last season.

    Winners of the Doak Walker Award for the outstanding college running back, sponsored by the Southern Methodist Athletic Forum:

    2005-Reggie Bush, USC
    2004-Cedric Benson, Texas
    2003-Chris Perry, Michigan
    2002-Larry Johnson, Penn State
    2001-Luke Staley, BYU
    2000-LaDainian Tomlinson, TCU
    1999-Ron Dayne, Wisconsin
    1998-Ricky Williams, Texas
    1997-Ricky Williams, Texas
    1996-Byron Hanspard, Texas Tech
    1995-Eddie George, Ohio State
    1994-Rashaan Salaam, Colorado
    1993-Byron "Bam" Morris, Texas Tech
    1992-Garrison Hearst, Georgia
    1991-Trevor Cobb, Rice
    1990-Greg Lewis, Washington