T.J. McDonald Named Semifinalist For Thorpe Award

    T.J. McDonald

    Oct. 31, 2011

    USC junior safety T.J. McDonald has been name one of 15 semifinalists for the 2011 Jim Thorpe Award, which is presented to the nation's top defensive back.

    McDonald has 39 tackles, 2 interceptions and a fumble recover while starting for his second season at free safety. He also is a quarterfinalist for the 2011 Lott IMPACT Trophy.

    Joining McDonald as Thorpe Award semifinalists are: Antonio Allen (South Carolina), David Amerson (North Carolina State), Jonathan Banks (Mississippi State), Mark Barron (Alabama), Brandon Boykin (Georgia), Brodrick Brown (Oklahoma State), Morris Claiborne (LSU), Casey Hayward (Vanderbilt), Jayron Hosley (Virginia Tech), Tony Jefferson (Oklahoma), Dre Kirkpatrick (Alabama), Nigel Malone (Kansas State), Markelle Martin (Oklahoma State) and Chase Minnifield (Virginia).

    The winner of the Thorpe Award will be named on Dec. 8. The 25th Anniversary Jim Thorpe Award Banquet will be held on Tuesday, Feb. 7, 2012 in Oklahoma City at the National Cowboy and Western Heritage Museum.