Ricky Oropesa Competes In First TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby

    July 8, 2010

    OMAHA, Neb. -- USC junior first baseman Ricky Oropesa (Rancho Cucamonga/Etiwanda HS) participated in the inaugural TD Ameritrade College Home Run Derby on Wednesday night at Rosenblatt Stadium. Oropesa was one of seven collegiate players to compete in the event that will be broadcast nationally on Sunday (July 11) on CBS at 10 a.m. Pacific time.

    The competition featured an elimination-style format as Oropesa hit two home runs in the first round and was unable to advance to the next round. East Tennessee State first baseman Paul Hoilman won the competition after hitting 12 home runs in the final round.

    Other competitors included Matt Gaudet of LSU, Jordan Ribera of Fresno State, Matt Skole of Georgia Tech, Dan Paolini of Siena, Steven Felix of Troy and Matt Leeds of College of Charleston.

    Joining the participants were Baseball Hall of Fame members Mike Schmidt and Andre Dawson who served as honorary hitting coaches for the players.

    Oropesa was named 2010 Baseball America Second Team All-American after leading the Trojans in the triple crown categories, batting .353 (83-for-235) with 20 home runs and 67 RBI. He hit 22 doubles, recorded a .711 slugging percentage and led the team with seven stolen bases.

    His 20 home runs placed him in a tie for sixth place all-time on the USC single-season list with Jason Lane (1999) while his 22 doubles put him in a tie for fifth place with three other players.

    He finished the season with his first three-homer game on May 28 against Washington, the first to do so since Jeff Clement in 2005. He also hit two or more home runs in a game three times during the 2010 season.



    He hit the walk-off homer in the 11th inning on May 18 in a 9-8 win against New Mexico State and went 4-for-5 with a double, home run and four RBI on May 14 at No. 11 UCLA.

    With 33 career home runs, Oropesa would need 21 home runs next season to tie the school career mark of 54, held by Mark McGwire (1982-84).

    He earned 2010 All-Pac-10 Conference honors after registering Pac-10 honorable mention recognition last season as a freshman. He came to USC after being selected in the 24th round of the 2008 draft by the Boston Red Sox.