Landecker Earns ABCA All-West Region First Team Honors

    Adam Landecker earns first career All-West Region honors.

    June 21, 2013

    LOS ANGELES - Senior second baseman Adam Landecker earned First Team All-West Region honors the American Baseball Coaches Association (ABCA) announced.

    Landecker (Calabasas, Calif./Calabasas HS), the West Region first team second baseman, led the 2013 Trojans with a .351 batting average, which was good for second in the Pac-12. The last time a Trojan finished the season batting .350 or better was in 2010 when Ricky Oropesa hit .353.

    Through 51 games, he tallied 25 RBI, two home runs and one triple on 71 total hits. His team-leading 18 doubles were good for third-best in the Pac-12. He was also sure-handed in the field, only making five errors all season for a fielding percentage of .981.

    Landecker was a mainstay in the Trojan lineup since his freshman season in 2010, when he played 50 games. In his Trojan career, he appeared in 191 games, starting 178 of them. He boasts a career batting average of .311 and drove in 68 RBIs. He had 30 doubles, five triples and three home runs. His fielding percentage was .968 as he played all around the diamond during his career. He also has a career on-base percentage of .394.

    Landecker, who also earned All-Pac-12 honorable mention honors, was drafted in the 21st round by the Pittsburgh Pirates in the 2013 MLB First-Year Player Draft. He has reported to the Gulf Coast Pirates, a rookie ball team. In his first professional appearance, Landecker went 2-for-5 with a double, a triple and one RBI.

    Landecker is the first Trojan since 2006 to earn All-Region honors, with Cyle Hankerd being the last to earn the honors. The last second baseman to be recognized was Brett Jenkins in 1991, but he earned a second team selection. The last All-Region First Team second baseman selection was Marvin Cobb in 1975.

    Landecker was one of eight Pac-12 baseballers to be named to the All-West Region first team. Five others earned second team honors.