Track & Field
    De Grasse & McCullough Named Bowerman Award Semifinalists

    Andre De Grasse
    June 22, 2015

    USC junior Andre De Grasse and senior Conor McCullough have been named as two of the 10 semifinalist for the 2015 Bowerman Award, presented annually by the U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) to the most outstanding male and female collegiate track and field athletes in the nation, it was announced today (June 22). The three finalists will be announced on July 8 and the winner will be named in mid-December at the USTFCCCA annual convention to be held in San Antonio, Texas.

    De Grasse capped off an incredible first season at USC by winning the NCAA 100m and 200m dashes in record-setting fashion during a 45-minute stretch on June 12. De Grasse's first individual event of the day was the men's 100m dash finals and he won going away with a wind-aided PR of 9.75 (+2.7w), the second-fastest any condition time by a collegiate runner. It is also the fastest any-conditions time ever run by a Canadian athlete. De Grasse's time also matches Tyson Gay (2008 Olympic Trials) for the-fastest any condition time at Oregon's Hayward Field.

    He then won the 200m dash in record-setting fashion with a time of 19.58 (+2.4w). That time was the fastest any condition time ever run by a collegian and the fastest any condition time run at historic Hayward Field. It is also the world-leading any conditions time. He became the first Trojan to win both the 100m and 200m dashes at the NCAA Championships since Clancy Edwards accomplished the feat in 1978. De Grasse became the first person to sweep the men's 100m and 200m dashes at the NCAA Championships since Florida State's Walter Dix in 2007. He also became the 21st person to ever win the 100-yard/meter and 200 meter (220 yard) races at the NCAA Championships in the same season, joining Trojan greats Edwards (1978) and Mel Patton (1948 and 1949), as well as among others, Jesse Owens (1935 and 1936), Justin Gatlin (2001 and 2002) and Harvey Glance (1976). He ended up having posted one of the top 10 fastest performances in world history in all conditions in both events. De Grasse began his day by running the second leg for USC's 4x100m relay which placed fourth with a time of 38.75, second-fastest in school history.



    De Grasse also won both the 100m and 200m races and ran on USC's winning 4x100m relay at the Pac-12 Championships (May 16-17) and was named the Pac-12 Men's Track Athlete of the Meet. Later he would be named the 2015 Pac-12 Men's Track Athlete of the Year. De Grasse's winning 100m time of 9.97 (+0.6) set the USC, Pac-12 Meet and UCLA Drake Stadium record. His semifinal 200m time of 20.03 (-0.1) tied him for second on USC's all-time list and set the Canadian record in the event.

    De Grasse also placed second in the 200m dash with a time of 20.26 at the NCAA Indoor Championships. His time was third all-time by a collegian indoors and set the USC and Canadian indoor record.

    McCullough won the 2015 NCAA hammer throw title with a mark of 252-4 (76.91m) on June 10 in Eugene, Ore. McCullough won the event by 17-feet, 7-inches and his winning throw was the farthest by a collegian since the 2002 season. His throw also ranks as the seventh-farthest ever by a collegiate hammer thrower. McCullough ranks second on USC's all-time list behind only the NCAA's all-time leader Balazs Kiss who had a throw of 271-1.

    McCullough also won the Pac-12 hammer throw title with a toss of 236-10 (72.20m) and won every competition he was entered in during the outdoor season. He also competed indoors in the weigh throw and took second at the NCAA Championships with a school-record throw of 58-1.25 (24.48m). That mark was also the second-farthest ever by a Division I athlete.