Athletics News
    Triggs Named 2012 Baseball Spring Scholar-Athlete Of The Year

    Andrew Triggs

    June 19, 2012

    Andrew Triggs of the baseball team was named 2012 baseball Pac-12 Spring Scholar-Athlete of the Year, presented by Toyo Tires®, June 15. These awards have been established to honor collegiate student-athletes that are standouts both academically and in their sports discipline.

    Triggs, the Trojans' 2012 co-captain graduated cum laude from USC last year with a degree in political science before returning to begin his MBA program at the Marshall School of Business. He was a Pac-12 All-Academic first team selection as well with a 3.57 GPA. It was the fourth such honor for Triggs as a Trojan.

    "It is always a challenge selecting the Pac-12 Scholar-Athletes of the Year because there are so many remarkable student-athletes in our Conference," Pac-12 Commissioner Larry Scott said. "The Pac-12 is extremely proud of it's heritage of academic and athletic excellence and this group of student-athletes is an example of achieving balance and success at the highest levels."

    In order to be eligible for the Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year award, student-athletes must be a senior (in athletics eligibility) on track to receive a degree, have a cumulative grade point average of 3.0 or higher, participate in at least 50 percent of the scheduled contests in the sport and have a minimum of one year in residence at the institution. Each Pac-12 institution may nominate one individual per sport, and the winners are selected by a committee of Pac-12 staff members at the conclusion of each sport's regular season. The athletic accomplishments of the nominees are a consideration in the voting for the award.

    A Scholar-Athlete of the Year will be named in each of the Pac-12's 22 sponsored sports: baseball, men's basketball, women's basketball, men's cross country, women's cross country, football, men's golf, women's golf, women's gymnastics, men's rowing, women's rowing, men's soccer, women's soccer, softball, men's swimming & diving, women's swimming & diving, men's tennis, women's tennis, men's track & field, women's track & field, women's volleyball, and wrestling.

    Scholar-Athletes of the Year in each sport will receive a commemorative award. Toyo® will donate $1,000 to the scholarship funds of the institution's athletic department of each winner in recognition of their accomplishments.

    "Toyo is proud to support the Pac-12 and to acknowledge outstanding student-athletes for their efforts," said Stan Chen, manager of events and motorsports, Toyo Tire U.S.A. Corp. "By supporting today's achievers, we feel we are helping to grow tomorrow's leaders."

    The Pac-12 Conference, in cooperation with Pac-12 corporate partner Toyo Tires, established the "Pac-12 Scholar-Athlete of the Year Awards, presented by Toyo Tires" during the 2007-08 academic year.

    To learn more about Toyo and its broad line of tires, log on to The Pac-12 Scholar-Athletes for spring are:

    Andrew Triggs, USC - Baseball, 3.57, Master's in Business Administration
    Katelyn Boyd, Arizona State - Softball, 3.74, Family and Human Development
    Jonnie Motomochi, Oregon State - Men's Golf, 3.38, Liberal Studies
    Giulia Molinaro, Arizona State - Women's Golf, 3.63, Recreation and Tourism Management
    Sam Ojserkis, Washington - Men's Rowing, 3.80, Geography
    Marielle Higgins, Stanford - Women's Rowing, 3.67, Human Biology
    Ryan Thacher, Stanford - Men's Tennis, 3.91, History
    Jana Juricova, California - Women's Tennis, 3.67, Political Economy
    Chris Derrick, Stanford - Men's Track and Field, 3.87, Economics
    Brianne Thiesen, Oregon - Women's Track and Field, 3.43, Business Administration