Lee Named Pac-12 Offensive MVP

| No Comments

Marqise Lee's historic season has led to some individual hardware as the sophomore receiver was named the Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year today.  Lee rewrote the conference record books with more catches (112) and receiving yards (1,680) in a single season than any player in Pac-12 history.

Lee-CU-SH.jpgHe is the 11th Trojan to win the conference's Offensive Player of the Year Award, and the first since Reggie Bush in 2005.  Lee was the only unanimous selection on the All-Pac-12 First Team.

In all, 19 Trojans earned conference recognition.  Click here for the complete list.

Senior center Khaled Holmes was the only other USC player on the All-Pac-12 First Team.  He is one of just two student-athletes to be named to the conference's first team for football and academics.

DT Leonard Williams was named the Pac-12 Defensive Freshman of the Year.  A Trojan has earned league freshman MVP honors in all three of Lane Kiffin's years in charge.

Of the 19 Trojans receiving accolades, only six are seniors.  USC placed five players on the Pac-12 second team: WR Robert Woods, DE Morgan Breslin, DB T.J. McDonald, DB Nickell Robey and KR Marqise Lee.

Pac-12 honorable mention: LB Dion Bailey, QB Matt Barkley, LB Tony Burnett, TE Xavier Grimble, PK Andre Heidari, DE Wes Horton, OG John Martinez, P Kyle Negrete, LB Hayes Pullard, RB Silas Redd, OL Max Tuerk, DT George Uko and DT Leonard Williams.

(Photo by Jon SooHoo)

Leave a comment