'Bam' Enshrinement


Written by Dave Dulberg, USC blog contributor

In Dec. 2010, former USC running back Sam 'Bam' Cunningham (1970-1972) was inducted into the College Football Hall of Fame, becoming the 37th Trojan in school history to achieve the honor. 

Cunningham, who is famously remembered for helping to integrate Southern schools after his 135-yard, two-touchdown performance at Alabama in Sept.1970, will finally be enshrined at a July 16th ceremony held in South Bend, IN.

In addition to the impact he had in helping to tear down the color barrier in college football, Cunningham's career as a Trojan was not too shabby either. A captain of the 1972 National Championship team and the Rose Bowl Game MVP in 1973, Cunningham rushed for 1,579 yards, caught 34 passes for 293 yards and 25 total touchdowns in his USC career.

The native of Santa Barbara, CA played 10 years (1973-1982) in the NFL with the New England Patriots, earning one selection to the Pro Bowl in 1978. 

If you would like to support Cunningham on his well-deserved day in South Bend, tickets are still available for his enshrinement ceremony.

(Photo by LA Times)


Is a list--or a link to a list--available to see all of USC's Hall of Fame members?

College Football Hall of Fame inductees

Howard Jones, Head Coach (1951)
Morley Drury, B (1954)
Mel Hein, Assistant Coach (1954)
Harry Smith, G (1955)
Erny Pinckert, B (1957)
Aaron Rosenberg, G (1966)
Ernie Smith, T (1970)
Dan McMillan, T (1971)
Mort Kaer, B (1972)
Aubrey Devine, Assistant Coach (1973)
John Ferraro, T (1974)
Frank Gifford, B (1975)
Cotton Warburton, B (1975)
Tay Brown, T (1980)
Johnny Baker, G (1983)
O.J. Simpson, TB (1983)
Mike Garrett, B (1985)
Bob Blackman, Assistant Coach (1987)

Mike McKeever, G (1987)
Ron Yary, T (1987)
John McKay, Head Coach (1988)
Paul Cleary, E (1989)
Mike McGee, Athletic Director (1990)
Lynn Swann, FL (1993)
Marvin Powell, T (1994)
Charles White, TB (1996)
Ricky Hunley, Assistant Coach (1997)
Ken O'Brien, Assistant Coach (1997)
Brad Budde, G (1998)
Don Coryell, Assistant Coach (1999)
Marcus Allen, TB (2000)
Jon Arnett, HB (2001)
Ronnie Lott, S (2002)
Ricky Bell, TB (2003)
Charles Young, TE (2004)
Anthony Davis, TB (2005)
Richard Wood, LB (2007)
Sam Cunningham, FB (2010)

Leave a comment